Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

wpid-dsc_8599-500hp72dpi-2013-10-10-23-59.jpg

Let’s take a look at another cabin. This is one I have stayed in. It is well kept, but still a rustic place to stay.

This shot is a light painting. It was not shot using a flash. A light painting is done by first mounting the camera on a tripod. I did not have a my tripod with me, so I had to balance the camera on something. Next, I adjusted the camera shutter speed for a long exposure. Many seconds. During the time the shutter was open, I used a flashlight to paint in the cabin. This takes some experimenting. Certain lights are the wrong colour. You can try changing the white balance setting to get it right. Getting the right amount of light over the entire subject so that it is evenly exposed is tricky.

I wanted the cabin to look warm and inviting. I also wanted it to stand out, so I made sure I did not paint in anything around the cabin. In setting it off centre in the shot, I add the feeling of more darkness, almost pitch black. There is a hint of something to the right; I am thinking about whether I should take it out. By not painting in any of the ground or bushes, the cabin becomes the only subject of the photo and makes it seem to float in a sea of night.

On the one hand, there is loneliness in all the darkness, but the warmth speaks of a friendliness that says, “Come in, I am your friend. There is shelter and protection.” One looks and gets the feeling of it being out in the middle of nowhere; one begins to wonder where this place is and what is around the cabin. Any trees? Water?

If you look closely, there are signs of human life. Someone, or some people must be there somewhere. Perhaps, they are sleeping, warm and comfortable, protected and safe within the walls of this little cabin in the middle of nowhere.

