Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It is fall and the rain is falling, thus it is falling out.

As you can see, I did get a couple of things written here and even more, I started a new blog focused around my slow to materialize book about the Technojungle. Back before summer Roger McGuinn’s guitar caught my attention, so for months now I have had some Byrds tunes rattling around upstairs and, in particular, Roger’s half guitar and half banjo style playing of the Rickenbacker 12 string electric guitar. Make sure you read the whole story. Also check out The Technojungle Project (see sidebar).

Most of our summer was pretty regular with son Malcolm taking summer engineering courses. I guess the biggest news is that daughter Michelle managed to move out of Kelowna after working for a year upon graduating from the University of British Columbia Okanagan (UBCO). However, she did not stick around and after just over two weeks, we loaded her on a plane to move to Melbourne Australia for year.

We visited my sister and brother-in-law’s summer place in Gibsons, BC, a ferry ride away, where Patti discovered Kayaking. Now that they no longer reside at all nearby and spend winters in Palm Desert, we hardly ever see them. Patti’s mother passed away a year and a half ago and her brother and his family are all pretty busy with their own families. Nevertheless, we do seem to always be busy and going hither and tither including church and curling.

It has been very good weather, but now that the rain has set in, I am trying to get into some sort of routine for the winter. I continue to regularly make bread, pizza and pasta with fresh ground ancient grains, mostly spelt, ground into flour in our ViitaMix.

I have been a bit pokey about getting to a few tasks and projects, so hopefully I will get a bit more organized and accomplish these over the winter.

With it falling out, I am moving toward falling in—falling into a fall routine.

