Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was gathering our mail from the mail kiosk at the townhouse complex we live in. As I pulled up, I noticed what looked like parents taking their small children trick or treating. All the children and the parents were dressed up and the townhouse was decorated with the traditional unfriendly decor.

All the attention seemed to be on a small child dressed in a black outfit with tiny yellow ears. I could only see his back. This child was obviously very unhappy and it seemed like the parents were trying to coax the child into the house as they all seemed to be friends. The child would not go. The man who answered the door was dressed as a pirate. He bent down to make a friendly gesture to the child and ease his fears. Then he squatted down to be level with the child. By now, a young girl, slightly older than the scared child, dressed in a blue princess or fairy costume, came out and was rubbing the back of the younger one.

It was a no go for the little one. The pirate man began, one by one, to take off some of his outfit, checking along the way, as if to say, “See, it’s only me.”

As I watched, I began to wonder what sort of memories this poor young child was going to come away with on this Halloween night? Is this really what we want to do to our children? Oh, I’m sure a lot of candy can sugar-coat the experience and all will eventually laugh about it. Really, come on. The frightening experience will be buried and covered in a grave of celebration of evil. But, no memory is completely erased.

I looked for an image to add here, but the overwhelming numbers of evil images made me think twice. Who really can believe in ‘Happy Halloween?’ Can celebrating evil actually be fun?

Think about it!

